
Marriage/Civil Union Fact Sheet 

  

Where should you apply for a marriage or civil union license? The marriage or civil union license must be 

obtained from the registrar in the New Jersey municipality in which either applicant resides, if one or 

both is resident of New Jersey. (For these purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are 

stationed.) A license issued under the preceding circumstances is good for use anywhere in the State of 

New Jersey.   

 If both parties are not residents of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar of the 

municipality where the ceremony is to be performed and is only good for use in that municipality.  

What this means:  You or your partner must be a resident of the Borough of Longport in order to apply 

in Longport.  You must have valid identification with current addresses.  If neither of you live in the State 

of New Jersey, but wish to have a ceremony performed in Longport, you would apply here.  Your license 

will be marked, “Valid only in the Borough of Longport”.    

Note:  A New Jersey marriage or civil union license may never be used outside of the State of New Jersey 

and a license issued in another state may never be used within the State of New Jersey.  

When should you apply for a marriage or civil union license?  A local Registrar will not issue a marriage 

or civil union license sooner than 72 hours after the application for a license has been made, unless 

ordered to do so via a Superior Court order. If the ceremony is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the 

application should be made no later than the preceding Tuesday. If the application is made on a 

Wednesday or Thursday, the 72 hours will end on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar will probably 

not be available on those days or any public holiday. If both parties are unavailable to complete the 

application at the same time, either applicant may complete his/her part of the application and start the 

waiting period. The other applicant must return with the same witness (who must be at least 18 years 

old) to complete his/her part of the application.  

The application must be completed by both parties before the license will be issued. The application is 

valid for six months from the date filed.   

 Once the license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance. A couple wishing to have 

both religious and civil ceremonies may be issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single 

application. However, a couple wishing to have two religious ceremonies, and wanting to have a public 

record of each, may not have two licenses issued at the same time. They must apply for and use the first 

license. They must then return to the Registrar with the signed original certificate and a witness to apply 

for a remarriage or reaffirmation of civil union license.  

What should you bring with you when you apply?  Required documents when applying for a marriage 

license:  1. Proof of identify by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal ID.  2. Proof of 

your residency.  3. Your social security card or social security number.*  4. A witness, 18 years of age or 

older.  5. The $28 application fee.   

  



*Social security number is required by law for U.S. citizens and will be kept confidential.   

 Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.  Each 

applicant must supply valid identification that establishes name, age, date of birth and proof of 

residency. This may be supplied by one or more documents issued by a government agency, such as a 

driver’s license, military identification, passport or state/county identification card.  

Where does my license get filed after the marriage/civil union ceremony?   Your license gets filed by the 

Officiant in the municipality where the ceremony took place.  For example, if you applied in the Borough 

of Longport because that’s where one of you reside, but the ceremony was performed on the beach in 

Ventnor, you would need to obtain a certified copy of your ceremony from Ventnor.    


